Shopping Cart

Molly Johnson

Molly Johnson: Because Of Billie 2LP

Molly Johnson

Universal Music Canada, 2014

As singer Molly Johnson notes in the album’s liner notes, when people point out her similarity to Billie Holiday, she replies that she’s not “like” the legendary jazz vocalist but “because of” her. Here, she offers a whole-heated tribute to her heroine, with a full album of 14 classic tunes previously recorded by Lady Day herself. With tracks ranging from a vivacious “Them There Eyes” and a sparkling “What a Little Moonlight Can Do” to a ravaged “Strange Fruit,” it’s an elegant evocation of Holiday’s great spirit.


  • A1: Body And Soul
  • A2: Fine And Mellow
  • A3: God Bless This Child
  • B1: What A Little Moonlight Can Do
  • B2: Them There Eyes
  • B3: You've Changed
  • B4: How Deep Is The Ocean?
  • C1: Strange Fruit
  • C2: Lady Sings The Blues
  • C3: Do Nothing 'Til You Hear From Me
  • C4: You Go To My Head
  • D1: They Can't Take That Away From Me
  • D2: Now Or Never
  • D3: Don't Explain


  • Molly Johnson - vocals
  • Robi Botos - piano
  • Terry Clarke - drums
  • Mike Downes - bass, trombone