Shopping Cart

Bill Evans

Bill Evans Trio: At Town Hall, Volume One LP (Verve Acoustic Sounds Series)

Bill Evans

Verve, 1966

Of pianist Bill Evans' many live albums, At Town Hall Vol. 1 has always been among his most delicate and elegant, writes Marc Myers for JazzWax. Evans playing is taut and graceful, with lovely long improvisational lines and a snappy, fluid attack on the keyboard. The mix of standards and two originals — one was a suite in memory of his father, who died just three days earlier — also were neatly selected and assembled. Despite playing New York club dates for 10 years, the Town Hall recording on February 21, 1966 was Evans' first New York concert appearance. Evans played the first half of the Town Hall concert with just bassist Chuck Israels and drummer Arnie Wise, and the second half with an orchestra. The orchestra performed four Al Cohn-arranged tunes: "Willow Weep for Me" and "What Kind of Fool Am I" as well as Evans' originals "Funkallero" and "Waltz for Debby."


Side A

  1. I Should Care
  2. Spring Is Here
  3. Who Can I Turn To (When Nobody Needs Me)

Side B

  1. Make Someone Happy
  2. Solo - In Memory Of His Father, Harry L. Evans, 1891 - 1966
  3. One For My Baby (And One More For The Road)
  4. Who's Sorry Now
  5. I'm Getting Sentimental Over YouReach For Tomorrow

Verve's Acoustic Sounds Series features transfers from analog tapes and remastered 180-gram vinyl in deluxe gatefold packaging.