Shopping Cart

Stanley Turrentine

Stanley Turrentine: Comin' Your Way LP (Tone Poet Series)

Stanley Turrentine

Blue Note, 1987

Stanley Turrentine is at his blues-drenched best on Comin' Your Way. This session from 1961 features the magnificent rhythm section of Horace Parlan on piano, George Trucker on bass, and Al Harewood on drums, better known as the Horace Parlan Trio. Also featured is Tommy Turrentine (Stanley's brother) on trumpet, who contributed the tune "Thomasville" on this set, showing his strong Fats Navarro influence. This quintet was at the peak of their collective power at this time, with this same group also making the classic Blue Note Horace Parlan records, Speakin' My Piece and On the Spur of the MomentComin' Your Way completes this magical hard-bop trilogy!


A1: My Girl Is Just Enough Woman For Me
A2: Then I'll Be Tired Of You
A3: Fine L'il Lass

B1: Thomasville
B2: Someone To Watch Over Me
B3: Stolen Sweets

Blue Note Records' Tone Poet Audiophile Vinyl Reissue Series is produced by Joe Harley and features all-analog, mastered-from-the-original-master-tape 180g audiophile vinyl reissues in deluxe gatefold packaging. Mastering is by Kevin Gray (Cohearent Audio) and vinyl is manufactured at Record Technology Incorporated (RTI).