Shopping Cart

Tony Williams

Tony Williams: Foreign Intrigue (Blue Note Classic Vinyl Edition) LP

Blue Note, 1985

Drummer Tony Williams had a long, fruitful relationship with Blue Note Records starting in the 1960s when he appeared on numerous post-bop classics (Herbie Hancock Maiden Voyage, Eric Dolphy Out to Lunch, Andrew Hill Point of Departure) and made his first 2 albums as a leader: Life Time (1964) and Spring (1965). After Blue Note relaunched in 1984, Williams returned to the label eager to form a new acoustic band as a vehicle to perform his compositions. He headed into the studio in 1985 to record Foreign Intrigue, the first in a remarkable run of 6 brilliant late-career albums. The album featured a set of 7 Williams originals including “Sister Cheryl” and “Takin’ My Time” performed by trumpeter Wallace Roney, alto saxophonist Donald Harrison, vibraphonist Bobby Hutcherson, pianist Mulgrew Miller, and bassist Ron Carter.

This Classic Vinyl Edition was mastered by Kevin Gray and pressed on 180g vinyl at Optimal.


A1: Foreign Intrigue
A2: My Michele
A3: Life Of The Party

B1: Takin' My Time
B2: Clearways
B3: Sister Cheryl
B4: Arboretum