Shopping Cart

Sam Rivers

Sam Rivers: Contours LP (Blue Note Tone Poet Series)

Sam Rivers

Blue Note, 1967

Saxophonist & flautist Sam Rivers followed-up his striking debut "Fuchsia Swing Song" with the tremendous album Contours. The quintet explored four of Rivers' engaging original compositions - "Point of Many Returns" "Dance of the Tripedal" "Euterpe" & "Mellifluous Cacophony" - with a profound spirit of freedom and innovation while keeping a foot firmly planted in Post-Bop. A beautifully clean recording by Rudy Van Gelder gives this album an ageless quality.


Side A

  1. Point Of Many Returns
  2. Dance Of The Tripedal

Side B

  1. Euterpe
  2. Mellifluous Cacophony

Blue Note Records' Tone Poet Audiophile Vinyl Reissue Series is produced by Joe Harley and features all-analog, mastered-from-the-original-master-tape 180g audiophile vinyl reissues in deluxe gatefold packaging. Mastering is by Kevin Gray (Cohearent Audio) and vinyl is manufactured at Record Technology Incorporated (RTI).


  • Sam Rivers - tenor & soprano saxophones, flute
  • Freddie Hubard - trumpet
  • Herbie Hancock - piano
  • Ron Carter - bass
  • Joe Chambers - drums
  • Recorded - 21 May 1965, Van Gelder Studio, New Jersey
  • Original engineer - Rudy Van Gelder