Shopping Cart

Lee Morgan

Lee Morgan: Taru LP (Blue Note Tone Poet Series)

Lee Morgan

Blue Note, 1980

Lee Morgan’s 1968 album Taru—which wouldn’t be first released until 1980 as part of the LT Series—found the trumpeter at a crossroads exploring a variety of styles. The band on this outstanding date is notable for several reasons including the elevating presence of guitarist George Benson who delivers inspired solos throughout. The session also marked Morgan’s first recorded collaboration with tenor saxophonist Bennie Maupin who would play an integral role on future Morgan albums including Caramba! and Live at the Lighthouse. Rounding out the sextet were pianist John Hicks, bassist Reggie Workman, and the ever-inspiriting drummer Billy Higgins. The six-song set covered a range of stylistic ground including modal jazz (“Avotcja One”), hard-charging post-bop (“Get Yourself Together”), beautiful balladry (“Haeschen” and “Taru, What’s Wrong With You?”), gospel-tinged numbers (“Dee Lawd”), and funky boogaloos (“Durem”).


Side A

  1. Avotcja One
  2. Haeschen
  3. Dee Lawd

Side B

  1. Get Yourself Together (Get Yo'self Togetha)
  2. Taru, What's Wrong With You?
  3. Durem

This stereo Tone Poet Vinyl Edition was produced by Joe Harley, mastered by Kevin Gray (Cohearent Audio) from the original analog master tapes, pressed on 180g vinyl at Record Technology Inc. (RTI), and packaged in a deluxe gatefold tip-on jacket.