Shopping Cart

John Coltrane

John Coltrane: Crescent (Verve Acoustic Sounds Series) LP

John Coltrane

Impulse!, 1964

“Crescent” catches John Coltrane’s classic quartet in a meditative, midnight mood. It also marks the first stirrings of the spiritual vibe that would increasingly come to define his work in the next few years. There’s a deep sense of yearning in his tone on the three key tracks, “Crescent,” “Wise One” and “Lonnie’s Lament,” all delivered with a sighing, stately restraint and sense of serious purpose. But there are lighter moments too. “Bessie’s Blues” is a cheerful stroller with pianist McCoy Tyner flicking out hip licks and “The Drum Thing” showcases a thunderous extended drum solo from Elvin Jones.

Side A
1. Crescent
2. Wise One
3. Bessie’s Blues

Side B
1. Lonnie’s Lament
2. The Drum Thing

  • Recorded - April 27 and June 1, 1964 at Van Gelder Studio, New Jersey
  • Engineer - Rudy Van Gelder
  • Producer - Bob Thiele