Shopping Cart

Grant Green

Grant Green: Grant's First Stand LP (Blue Note Classic Vinyl Edition)

Grant Green

Blue Note, 1961

Grant Green's debut album, Grant's First Stand, still ranks as one of his greatest pure soul-jazz outings, a set of killer grooves laid down by a hard-swinging organ trio. For having such a small lineup, just organist Baby Face Willette and drummer Ben Dixon -- the group cooks up quite a bit of power, really sinking its teeth into the storming up-tempo numbers, and swinging loose and easy on the ballads. From the first note of "Miss Ann's Tempo," they establish a groove and swing like hell through two standards and four originals. This may have been Grant Green's debut album, but all three of these musicians share equal responsibility in this magnificent January 28, 1961 date, remastered by original recording engineer Rudy Van Gelder from the original analog masters.


A1: Miss Ann's Tempo
A2: Lullaby of the Leaves
A3: Blues for Willarene
B1: Baby's Minor Lope
B2: ‘Tain't Nobody's Bizness If I Do
B3: A Wee Bit O'Green


This Blue Note Classic Vinyl Edition is all-analog, mastered by Kevin Gray from the original master tapes, and pressed on 180g vinyl at Optimal.