Shopping Cart

Gary Burton

Gary Burton: The New Quartet LP (Luminessence Series)

Gary Burton

ECM Records, 1973

As well as being the great vibes innovator of the era, Gary Burton has been a most astute talent scout. In 1973, The New Quartet introduced Abraham Laboriel: this was the first recording of the bassist who would shortly become one of the most in-demand session players across all genres. “It must be emphasised that Laboriel sounds like a major artist in the making with his astonishing bass work,” wrote Melody Maker. Guitarist Mick Goodrick also emerged as a player to watch with this album, shining in a well-conceived programme with compositions of Keith Jarrett, Chick Corea, Carla Bley, Mike Gibbs and bandleader Burton.


Side A

  1. Open Your Eyes, You Can Fly
  2. Coral
  3. Tying Up Loose Ends
  4. Brownout

Side B

  1. Olhos De Gato
  2. Mallet Man
  3. Four Or Less
  4. Nonsequence