Shopping Cart

Dizzy Gillespie

Dizzy Gillespie: The Ebullient Mr. Gillespie LP (Verve By Request Series)

Dizzy Gillespie

Verve, 1959

The band Gillespie assembled for this date – Junior Mance, Les Spann, Sam Jones, & Lex Humphries - was for the most part a working band on the club & concert circuit, offering a mixture of Gillespie’s entertaining songs, established repertoire, & some Latin & African-influenced pieces. With them, Dizzy found a middle ground in his music that gave his legacy room to breathe, but with much more rhythmic variety.


Side A

  1. Swing Low
  2. Always
  3. Willow Weep For Me
  4. Ungawa

Side B

  1. Lorraine
  2. Girl Of My Dreams
  3. Constantinople
  4. The Umbrella Man

The Verve By Request Series features 180-gram vinyl, pressed at Third Man in Detroit.