Shopping Cart

Chick Corea

Chick Corea - Now He Sings, Now He Sobs LP (Tone Poet Series)

Chick Corea

Blue Note, 1968

Chick Corea’s brilliant trio album from 1968, Now He Sings, Now He Sobs, is held in the same kind of rarefied esteem as the classic Bill Evans trio sessions. One listen will tell you why… the exquisite interplay between Chick, Czech bassist Miroslav Vitous, and drum master Roy Haynes make it abundantly clear why this album has achieved such legendary status among jazz piano trio recordings. Now He Sings, Now He Sobs features a program of all Corea compositions including the first recording of “Matrix,” one of Corea’s most beloved tunes. Originally released on Solid State Records.


A1: Steps - What Was
A2: Matrix

B1: Now He Sings - Now He Sobs
B2: Now He Beats The Drum - Now He Stops
B3: The Law of Falling and Catching Up


  • Recorded - March 1968, A&R Studios, New York
  • Original Engineer - Don Hahn
  • Original producer - Sonny Lester