Shopping Cart

Charles Lloyd & The Marvels

Charles Lloyd & The Marvels: Tone Poem 2LP

Charles Lloyd

Blue Note, 2021

Tone Poem is the third full-length album by Charles Lloyd & The Marvels, the genre-straddling quintet that features the master saxophonist with Bill Frisell on guitar, Greg Leisz on pedal steel guitar, Reuben Rogers on bass, and Eric Harland on drums. Following the band’s 2016 debut I Long To See You and their 2018 collaboration with Lucinda Williams Vanished Gardens, the nine dynamic instrumental tracks here include new Lloyd originals along with pieces by Ornette Coleman, Thelonious Monk, Leonard Cohen, Gabor Szabo, and Bola de Nieve.

The vinyl edition of Tone Poem was supervised by Joe Harley and will be the first-ever new release to be presented as part of Blue Note’s acclaimed Tone Poet Vinyl Series.


A1. Peace
A2. Ramblin
A3. Anthem
B1. Dismal Swamp
B2. Tone Poem
C1. Monk's Mood
C2. Ay Amor (Live)
D1. Lady Gabor
D2. Prayer