Shopping Cart

Bobby Hutcherson

Bobby Hutcherson: Stick-Up! (Blue Note Tone Poet Series) LP

Bobby Hutcherson

Blue Note, 1968

Recorded in 1966, vibraphonist Bobby Hutcherson’s “Stick-Up!” found him in the company of a new band line-up with Joe Henderson, McCoy Tyner, Herbie Lewis, and Billy Higgins. The quintet covers a vast expanse of post-bop territory on five Hutcherson originals – from the roaring hard bop of “8/4 Beat” to the shimmering ballad “Summer Nights” – plus Ornette Coleman’s “Una Muy Bonita.”

This stereo Tone Poet Vinyl Edition was produced by Joe Harley, mastered by Kevin Gray (Cohearent Audio) from the original analog master tapes, pressed on 180g vinyl at Record Technology Inc. (RTI), and packaged in a deluxe gatefold tip-on jacket.


A1: Una Muy Bonita
A2: 8/4 Beat
A3: Summer Nights

B1: Black Circle
B2: Verse
B3: Blues Mind Matter
  • Recorded - July 14, 1966 at Van Gelder Studio, New Jersey
  • Producer - Alfred Lion