Shopping Cart

Alice Coltrane

Alice Coltrane - A Monastic Trio LP (Verve By Request Series)

Alice Coltrane

Impulse!, 1968

Recorded in 1968 and intended as a tribute to her late husband, Alice Coltrane is supported in her first solo outing by Pharoah Sanders, Jimmy Garrison and Rashied Ali - all members of John Coltrane’s last quintet. While initial reviews to the album were lukewarm upon release, looking at it in the context of her larger body of work, A Monastic Trio serves as a delightful foreshadowing of what was to come.


Side A

  1. Ohnedaruth
  2. Gospel Trane
  3. I Want To See You

Side B

  1. Lovely Sky Boat
  2. Oceanic Beloved
  3. Atomic Peace

The Verve By Request Series features 180-gram vinyl, pressed at Third Man in Detroit.