Shopping Cart

Sonny Rollins

Sonny Rollins - Newk's Time LP (Blue Note Classic Vinyl Series)

Sonny Rollins

Blue Note, 1959

Sonny Rollins first appeared on a Blue Note recording session in 1949 as part of Bud Powell's Modernists during a period when the saxophonist was coming up on the scene and cutting his teeth alongside bebop innovators including Thelonious Monk, Charlie Parker, and Miles Davis. After he began leading his own record dates in the 1950s, Rollins hooked up with Alfred Lion again and recorded four tremendous albums for Blue Note in less than a year between December 1956 and November 1957. Following two quintet dates that were released as Sonny Rollins, Volume 1 and Vol. 2, the saxophone colossus returned to Van Gelder Studio in September 1957 with a quartet comprised of pianist Wynton Kelly, bassist Doug Watkins, and drummer Philly Joe Jones to record Newk's Time (the album title was a reference to his nickname Newk due to his resemblance to Brooklyn Dodgers pitcher Don Newcombe). Rollins & Co. romp through a typically eclectic set that includes pieces by his jazz peers (Miles Davis' “Tune Up” & Kenny Dorham's “Asiatic Raes”), Broadway showtunes (the saxophone-drums duet “Surrey with the Fringe on Top” & the sumptuous “Namely You”), pop songs (“Wonderful! Wonderful!” which was a hit for Johnny Mathis in 1956), and Rollins' own spirited original “Blues for Philly Joe.”


Side A

  1. Tune Up
  2. Asiatic Raes
  3. Wonderful! Wonderful!

Side B

  1. The Surrey With The Fringe On Top
  2. Blues For Philly Joe
  3. Namely You

This Blue Note Classic Vinyl Edition is stereo, all-analog, mastered by Kevin Gray from the original master tapes, and pressed on 180g vinyl at Optimal.