Shopping Cart

Everything Jazz

Joe Lovano: Trio Fascination - Edition One 2LP (Blue Note Tone Poet Series)

Joe Lovano

Blue Note, 1998

The acclaimed Cleveland-born saxophonist Joe Lovano came to Blue Note Records in 1990 and over the next 25 years became one of the most recorded artists in the label’s history, building a formidable and far-ranging catalog that explored the full breadth of his artistry. Recorded in September 1997, Trio Fascination: Edition One stands out as one of the more remarkable sessions in Lovano’s discography with the saxophonist joining forces with two all-time legends—bassist Dave Holland and drummer Elvin Jones—in a spare trio setting that finds these three masters conversing freely. Throughout Lovano can be heard on tenor, soprano, alto, and straight alto saxophones, as well as alto clarinet, and the set consists of nine creative Lovano originals including the pulsing opener “New York Fascination,” the spacious “Sanctuary Park,” the Sam Rivers tribute “Studio Rivbea,” and a stunning rendition of the lone standard “Ghost of a Chance.” This Tone Poet Vinyl Edition marks the album’s first-ever release on vinyl.


Disc 1

Side A

  1. New York Fascination
  2. Sanctuary Park
  3. Eternal Joy

Side B

  1. Ghost Of A Chance
  2. Studio Rivbea
  3. Cymbalism

Disc 2

Side A

  1. Impressionistic
  2. Villa Paradiso

Side B

  1. 4 On The Floor
  2. Days Of Yore

This stereo Tone Poet Vinyl Edition was produced by Joe Harley, mastered by Kevin Gray (Cohearent Audio) from the original analog master tapes, pressed on 180g vinyl at Record Technology Inc. (RTI), and packaged in a deluxe gatefold tip-on jacket.